Karl Marx Statue

A grand gift for the city’s probably most famous native son: the statue of Karl Marx was given to Trier by the People’s Republic of China on the occasion of the anniversary year 2018. The sculpture was created in bronze by the well-known Chinese sculptor Wu Weishan. On the occasion of Karl Marx’s 200th birthday, the statue was ceremoniously unveiled on May 5, 2018, followed by a large festival.

The statue shows Marx with his inimitable full beard, frock coat, and a book under his left arm. In the artist’s interpretation, Marx encounters the observer as a person of flesh and blood who walks alongside. Haircut and beard characterize the philosopher, and the book is symbolic of mankind becoming more “educated.”

The entire height of the statue is 18 ft (5.5 m), including the base. The five corners of the rounded-off base symbolize the important places associated with the philosopher: Trier, Berlin, Hamburg (publisher’s headquarters), Paris, and London.

The statue stands on Simeonstiftplatz directly behind the City Museum and within view of the Marx family’s home in Simeonstrasse.

Karl Marx Statue

Ein großes Geschenk für den wohl bekanntesten Sohn der Stadt: die Karl Marx Statue wurde der Stadt Trier anlässlich des Jubiläumsjahres 2018 von der Volksrepublik China geschenkt. Angefertigt wurde die Skulptur aus Bronze von dem bekannten chinesischen Bildhauer Wu Weishan. Anlässlich Karl Marx´s 200.ten Geburtstag wurde die Statue am 05. Mai 2018 feierlich enthüllt und von einem großen Bürgerfest abgerundet.  

Die Figur zeigt Marx mit seinem unverkennbaren Vollbart mit Gehrock und einem Buch unter dem linken Arm. In der Interpretation des Künstlers begegnet Marx dem Betrachter als Mensch aus Fleisch und Blut, der neben ihm her geht. Haarschnitt und Bart charakterisieren den Philosophen und das Buch steht als Symbol dafür, dass die Menschheit sich weiterbildet.

Die Gesamthöhe der Statue beträgt 5,50 Meter inklusive Sockel. Die fünf Ecken des abgerundeten Sockels symbolisieren die wichtigsten Wirkungsorte des Denkers: Trier, Berlin, Hamburg (Sitz seines Verlegers), Paris und London.

Zu finden ist die Statue auf dem Simeonstiftplatz direkt hinter dem Stadtmuseum und in Sichtweite des Wohnhauses der Familie Marx in der Simeonstraße.