Old Jewish Cemetery Trier
Trier for All

Tour through the Synagogue and Old Jewish Cemetery

At least four synagogue buildings have been passed down throughout the course of the Trier Jewish community’s long history; archaeological findings trace them back to the 4th century. There is no visual evidence of an initial synagogue on Simeonsgasse, which was used off and on until 1418. A second house of prayer was inaugurated in 1762 on Weberbach Street, where the Jews had established a new neighbourhood after their expulsion and resettlement. Nearly 100 years later, the synagogue had become too small and dilapidated. A new building on Zuckerbergstrasse fell victim to Kristallnacht in 1938, though one of its rubble stones served as the foundation for the new synagogue building on Kaiserstrasse, which was inaugurated 18 years later, in 1957.
Read more
The tour through the synagogue doesn’t just showcase the architectural features of the monolithic building created by Alfons Leitl; it also explores modern-day life in Trier’s Jewish community. The one-hour tour can be combined with another one-hour tour through the old Jewish cemetery on Weidegasse, which was created in the mid-17th century and significantly extended some 100 years later. The Jewish community buried their dead there until 1925. Among the nearly 550 preserved gravestones are those of the great-grandparents and grandparents of Karl Marx, as well as the great-grandparents of Marcel Proust.


Meeting place:
Synagogue, main entrance

60 minutes each
(for the synagogue or the Jewish cemetery on Weidegasse)

€  80.00 in German, for both tours combined: € 130.00

Group size:
Max. 25 persons


Trier Tourismus und Marketing GmbH
Tourist-Information next to the Porta Nigra
Guided Tours

Simeonstraße 60
54290 Trier

Tel. +49 (0)651 97808 -52, -21, -20
E-Mail fuehrungen@trier-info.de

Request form